December 19, 2015





havemeyer_trophyThe U.S. Amateur Championship is the oldest golf championship in this country, one day older than the U.S. Open. Except for an eight-year period, from 1965-1972, when it was stroke play, the Amateur has been a match-play championship.

Throughout its history, the U.S. Amateur has been the most coveted of all amateur titles. Many of the legendary names of golf, such as Bobby Jones, Chick Evans, Gene Littler, Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Lanny Wadkins, Craig Stadler, Jerry Pate, Mark O’Meara, Hal Sutton, Phil Mickelson and Tiger Woods, grace the Havemeyer Trophy.

This year we would like to commemorate the 100th anniversary of Charles “Chick” Evans first U.S. Amateur Championship and his unparalleled success as an amateur golfer and founder of the Evans Scholarship.

Notable U.S. Amateur Champions

1916 – Merion Cricket Club, Charles Chick Evans

1920 – Engineers Country Club, Charles “Chick” Evans

1924 – Merion Golf Club, Bobby Jones

1925 – Oakmont Country Club, Bobby Jones

1927 – Minikahda Club, Bobby Jones

1928 – Brae Burn Country Club, Bobby Jones

1930 – Merion Golf Club, Bobby Jones

1954 – Country Club of Detroit, Arnold Palmer

1959 – Broadmoor Golf Club, Jack Nicklaus

1961 – Pebble Beach Golf Links, Jack Nicklaus

1975Country Club of Virginia, Fred Ridley

1990 – Cherry Hills Country Club, Phil Mickelson

1992 – Muirfield Village, Justin Leonard

1994 – TPC at Sawgrass, Tiger Woods

1995 – Newport Country Club, Tiger Woods

1996 – Pumpkin Ridge Golf Club, Tiger Woods

1997 – Cog Hill Golf & Country Club, Matt Kuchar

2002 – Oakland Hills Country Club, Ricky Barnes

2013 – The Country Club – Brookline, Matt Fitzpatrick

2014 – Atlanta Athletic Club, Gunn Yang

2015 – Olympia Fields Country Club, Bryson DeChambeau

2016 – Oakland Hills Country Club, TBD